Near the ribbon…

We are back after a short interval. (Of course, we had to be back. We don’t think there is any end to the lovely wishes coming your way, Sameer!) 🙂

We bring you, once again, messages from all the batches. Some are Sameer’s friends, while the others are mere acquaintances. However, what is common is the impact that Sameer’s accomplishment has had on all these folks.
Shivani Salunke, 2012-17

One of those times when I regret not having taken my Urdu lessons seriously. Would have loved to put together some couplets in praise of this boy. Sameer is definitely one of the most remarkable persons I’ve ever met. Simply talking to him can inspire you to do better. Not just for yourself, but for everyone around, to do something to make a change.

So I know you’ll be out there, Sameer, setting many many more benchmarks for everyone around. And all of my best wishes are with you for that. Keep making us proud 🙂

Vinayak Ojha, 2013-18

Sameer is one of the most helpful and positive people I have ever met; he is motivated and capable of achieving great things. I wish him best of luck for all his future endeavors.
Also, considering his love for Thumbs Up, I hope he replaces Salman Khan as the Brand Ambassador someday.

Nikhil Agarwal, 2013-18

Heartiest congratulations !!! I have already congratulated you a number of times but every time I feel, it is just not enough. I have often compared you to a machine for the non-stop efforts you put day in and day out but then I realized that even a machine has limitations, but not you. I must admit I am a bit jealous of how far you have come, but I am even more proud to have you as a friend. I know you will keep up the good work and continue to inspire many young minds around the country, especially in Kashmir. This is just the beginning of a wonderful journey. Wish you success in all your future endeavors.

Vaishali Movva, 2013-18

Dear Sameer,

It’s very rare that an achievement by another can make every person around him so happy. It is even more rare that the happiness is not warranted due to the achievement itself but rather due to the person who’s achieved it. I’m so grateful to have known and interacted with someone who can make his entire University happy by the mere virtue of just being himself.

Oxford is really in for a ride.

Vishakha Choudhary, 2013-18

We all come into law school with different perceptions, ambitions and often, large egos. Sameer came to GNLU with nothing, but a persistent back problem, a malnourished body, an unnatural desire to dance to Bollywood songs and a lot of humility.
When he writes his memoir, I will be interviewed (I think). The first memory that will come to mind is him limping into an courtroom with a broken back, while supporting me, a cripple with a broken leg. We’d submitted that memo three hours late and been annihilated by that Bench.
It was simultaneously the most horrendous and beautiful round of mooting I’ve ever been a part of – two words I can perhaps associate with every second I’ve spent with Sameer.
Few people have the massive range of qualities that he possesses: from smooth talking professors to break into impromptu Urdu, to his present achievement, there is nothing the boy can’t do. These are, however, the more recognized facets of Wonder Boy. Lesser known are his selfless friendship (which I have shamelessly paraded), his unwavering loyalty (which I have endlessly relied on) and his terrible, terrible sense of humor (which I have been needlessly subjected to). Most distinctive is his ability to pause, appreciate, accept and move on – something I have admired for every day that I’ve known him, but not quite yet learnt from him. This, I hope to use as an excuse to make him stick around.
That he has been recognized for his many, many, many talents is as unsurprising as it is uplifting. Next stop, #BringKohinoorBackToIndia

Anushka Sinha, 2015-20

Last summer, Sameer was the coach for my moot team and 2 days before the memo submission, I had a query about his feedback on my draft. He was extremely busy at that time so he told me he can talk to me only after he returns home at about 2 AM or so, and he finally returned at around 3:00 AM. Despite working all day and travelling for about an hour and a half, he talked to me at 3 in the night till my doubt was resolved. And that’s the kind of person Sameer is, he will have a million different things to do, but he’ll never say no to a person asking for help.

Thank you for all your help, Sameer, and for being an inspiration as well. Congratulations, you truly deserve the scholarship! Next stop, Oxford!

Keertana.V., 2017-22

Heartiest congratulations to you Sameer! It was only days before you won the scholarship that my friends and I were discussing about the Rhodes scholarship and how no one in our University had won it. I was very happy and excited to hear about the news. It has been a pleasure working with you in both the MCC and the LSC. I look up to you greatly and wish only the best for you. You are a huge inspiration to everyone in college and your energy and enthusiasm in the Committees drives us to push ourselves.

All the very best for the future!

Vedant Sumant, 2017-22

Namaste,

I am Vedant from the 1st year and like everyone else, saw you for the 1st time at the moot coaching classes. Later on I saw you running from office to office and came to know that you must be some important person. Then I personally met you in the 1st SWGRC meeting (for which I was late)  where I saw your organizational skills. Believe me when I say it, that you were the one to inspire me to join most of the committees and centers as I picked up the sudden attraction for leadership and organizational skills from you. Seeing you work in GMSIL was a whole different story. That’s when I started asking people about you and came to know about your academic excellence, which has now a cherry (Rhodes Scholarship) on top. I really really would like to keep in touch with you and know more about you and especially would like to discuss the Kashmir issue with you, once.

Thank you.

Thank you, Sameer, for all the ways you have inspired us and all the ways we know you are going to inspire us further.

This is it folks, all your love and admiration wrapped up in this post. Hope you were truly inspired and, once again, Congratulations Sameer!

Lots of love,
Jury’s Out

Tell us what you thought.